The Royal Bournemouth and Christchurch hospitals are now part of the University Hospitals Dorset NHS Foundation Trust, please find us at You can also still call us on 01202 303626

University Hospitals Dorset
Home » Your Trust » NHS70 » The NHS70 Parliamentary Awards – who will you nominate?


The NHS70 Parliamentary Awards – who will you nominate?


This July, the NHS will celebrate its 70th birthday. One of the activities taking place to mark this milestone is the NHS70 Parliamentary Awards. These awards will identify and highlight innovative and high-quality care across every constituency in England, and thank staff for their dedication, hard work and commitment by recognising and honouring their achievements. Nominations will be sent to MPs by the public and their local health and care organisations, and then choose who to officially nominate for a national award before the nomination window closes on Friday 23 March.

Local and regional NHS England and Improvement teams will then receive and sift the nominations made by MPs in their areas, and select one in each category to go forward to the national shortlist, where they will be assessed by a high-level national judging panel. The winners, as selected by this panel, will be announced at an awards ceremony in Parliament on Wednesday 4 July – the day before the NHS’ 70th birthday.

Can you think of anyone that should be nominated for one of these awards?

There are 10 categories which cover…

1. The Excellence in Mental Health Care Award

2. The Excellence in Cancer Care Award

3. The Excellence in Urgent and Emergency Care Award

4. The Excellence in Primary Care Award

5. The Person-Centred Care Champion Award

6. The Future NHS Award

7. The Healthier Communities Award

8. The Care and Compassion Award

9. The Patient and Public Involvement Award

10. The Lifetime Achievement Award

For more information about the criteria for these awards, and for general award information, please visit