The Royal Bournemouth and Christchurch hospitals are now part of the University Hospitals Dorset NHS Foundation Trust, please find us at You can also still call us on 01202 303626

University Hospitals Dorset
Home » Your Trust » Who we are and what we do » Non–Executive Directors

Non Executive Directors

The Non–Executive Directors provide challenge and support to the Executive Team.

David Moss

David Moss, Chair

David was appointed as Chairperson of the Trust on 13 March 2017. David has extensive experience of working within the NHS and the local region, having previously been Chief Executive Officer of both Poole Hospital and then University Hospital Southampton. While at Southampton, David led the reconfiguration of the acute services over 10 hospitals and the creation of University Hospital Southampton. Southampton became a three star status trust under his leadership. Other roles he has held include Director of Finance for East Dorset Health Authority, Deputy Director of Human Resources for the NHS and Chief Executive of the Royal College of Physicians.

David has also been a non-executive director of the Audit Commission and Chair of the Board of Governors at Ferndown Upper School.

David chairs both Nomination and Remuneration Committees at the Trust.

Christine Hallett

Christine Hallett

Christine Hallett worked at the Department of Health for four years before moving into academia. She taught and researched in social policy at the universities of Oxford, Keele, Western Australia and Leicester. She served as Principal and Vice-Chancellor at the University of Stirling from 2003-2010. She has also served as a Civil Service Commissioner, as a Trustee of the National Centre for Social Research, as Chair of the Board of Trustees of the U.K. Council for International Student Affairs and as a member of the Board of Governors at Bournemouth University.

Christine joined the Board of Directors in June 2015. Christine chairs the Healthcare Assurance Committee and is a member of the Audit Committee.

Christine was appointed as the Senior Independent Director in April 2017.

Iain Rawlinson

Iain Rawlinson

Iain Rawlinson was appointed as a non-executive director on 1 October 2017. Iain is a qualified barrister, businessman, social enterprise investor and trustee. He spent much of his career in banking and investment sectors and more recently has been involved in a broad range of business and charitable projects through leadership, advisory and non-executive director roles. Iain is a non-executive director of The Parkmead Group.

Iain is Chairman of the Development Board of Tusk Trust, a charity which protects wildlife, supports communities and promotes education in Africa, and is also a governor at Walhampton School. He is a Practising Fellow at the Centre for Social Innovation at the Cambridge Judge Business School.

Iain is a member of the Audit, Charitable Funds, Finance and Performance and Workforce Strategy and Development Committees.

Alex Jablonowski

Alex Jablonowski

Alex has 25 years' board level experience within Barclays and government, including the Supreme Court, House of Commons, Ministry of Defence, Department for Transport, Government Actuary's Department, Companies House and the Office for National Statistics. He is a seasoned full-time UK independent government director with extensive Chair, Board and Audit Committee experience and currently chairs the Defence Electronics and Components Agency and is a non-executive director on the Board of the Maritime Coastguard Agency. Alex has an MA (Hons) in Modern Russian Studies and is an Associate of the Chartered Institute of Bankers.

Alex chairs the Audit Committee and is a member of the Charitable Funds and Finance and Performance Committees. Alex was appointed Vice-Chairperson of the Trust in October 2017.

John Lelliott

John Lelliott OBE

John had a long career in public service retiring from The Crown Estate in September 2016 after over 30 years where he held the position of Finance Director. John is a Non-Executive Director of the Covent Garden Market Authority and a Non-executive Board member of the Environment Agency. John was a Trustee and Vice Chair of Asthma UK until June 2017.

In July 2016, John became Chairman of the Natural Capital Coalition and is the Chair of the ACCA Global Sustainability Forum, member of HRH The Prince of Wales Accounting for Sustainability Project (A4S) Advisory Council and is an International Integrated Reporting Council (IIRC) ambassador.

John is a qualified Chartered Certified Accountant and a member of the Chartered Association of Certified Accountants.

John joined the Trust's Board of Directors as a Non-Executive Director on 1 June 2016. John chairs the Finance and Performance Committee at the Trust and is a member of the Audit Committee and the Charitable Funds Committee. John is also Chairperson of the Christchurch Fairmile LLP, as a representative of the Trust.

Cliff Shearman

Cliff Shearman

Cliff Shearman was appointed as a Non-Executive Director on 1 April 2017. Cliff Shearman lives in West Hampshire and was a Professor of Vascular Surgery/Consultant Vascular Surgeon at University Hospital Southampton NHS Foundation Trust until 2016, where he was also Associate Medical Director. He was Head of the Wessex Postgraduate School of Surgery from 2007-2012. Cliff is now Emeritus Professor of Vascular Surgery at the University of Southampton.

Cliff has been heavily engaged in quality improvement work relating people with diabetes to improve the quality of care and reduce vascular complications which can result in foot and leg amputations. He has also maintained an active research programme throughout his career leading various studies and publishing national and international guidelines, books, papers and articles.

Cliff has represented the Vascular Society on the Royal College of Surgeons of England Council since 2015, and in April 2018 was elected as its Vice President. He is also a trustee of the Royal College of Surgeons.

Cliff chairs the Workforce Strategy and Development Committee and is a member of the Healthcare Assurance Committee.

Pankaj Davé

Pankaj Davé

Pankaj Davé returned to the Trust as a non-executive director on 1 September 2018.

Pankaj is a Chartered Certified Accountant and has worked internationally as a senior executive leading large multidisciplinary teams for a range of internationally recognised businesses including BP, Amoco and Reliance Industries in strategy, financial, commercial, business transformation, operations, enterprise systems and planning and performance management roles. Pankaj has also been a trustee for Kidney Research UK and ran his own strategy consultancy business.

He has recently returned to the UK after working in Mumbai for five years for Reliance Industries, India's largest company. As a direct report to the Managing Director, Pankaj led and successfully delivered a major group-wide transformation program to integrate processes, systems, data, organisation and governance.

Pankaj chairs the Charitable Funds Committee and is a member of the Finance and Performance, Healthcare Assurance and Workforce Strategy and Development Committees.