Home » Our partners » Hospital Medical and Dental Staff » The District

The District

The Trust is within the NHS South West area. The Trust provides general health care for the residents of Bournemouth, Christchurch, East Dorset and part of the New Forest with a total population of over 550,000. This is a major tourist area and during the summer months over one million holidaymakers visit Bournemouth including substantial numbers of foreign language students. The fluctuating population, three times greater growth than the average for England and Wales, and the high proportion of elderly present special problems for health care.

The major acute hospitals in Dorset are:

East Dorset
The Royal Bournemouth Hospital – the other hospital forming part of the Royal Bournemouth and Christchurch Hospitals NHS Trust is Christchurch Hospital (a total of 600 beds).

Poole General Hospital NHS Trust (790 beds) – serves as the main trauma centre for East Dorset

West Dorset
Dorset County Hospital, Dorchester