The Royal Bournemouth and Christchurch hospitals are now part of the University Hospitals Dorset NHS Foundation Trust, please find us at You can also still call us on 01202 303626

University Hospitals Dorset
Home » Your Trust

Your Trust

Who we are and what we do

We provide health care for the residents of Bournemouth, Christchurch, East Dorset and part of the New Forest with a total population of around 550,000, which rises during the summer months. Some specialist services cover a wider catchment area, including Poole, the Purbecks and South Wiltshire.

We gained Foundation Status in 2005, following three consecutive years as a three star performing trust. We provide services to our patients from the Royal Bournemouth and Christchurch Hospitals, which are located about three miles apart on the South Coast.

Our catchment population is covered by two Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs):

  • Dorset Clinical Commissioning Group
  • West Hampshire Clinical Commissioning Group

The Trust is run by a Board of Directors, which is made up of Executive and Non–Executive Directors. Together, they are responsible for the day–to–day running of the Trust and the delivery of our objectives and wider strategy. Much of this work is done by the Executive Directors who work closely with the clinical leaders and managers throughout the Trust. The Board also works closely with the Council of Governors.

There are seven Executive Directors, and seven Non–Executive Directors who are accountable to the Council of Governors and Foundation Trust Members.